Sunday, July 08, 2007

The New Seven wonders...

First let me start with the classic Seven wonders :

Pyramid of Giza near Caïro in Egypt (+/- 4600 years old)
Colossus at the port of Rhodos in Greece (2200 years collapsed by a earthquake)

Hanging gardens of Babylon in Iraq (2700 years ago)

Mausoleum at Halicarnassus in Turkey (2350 years ago)

The lighthouse at Alexandria near the coast of Egypt (+/- 2100 years old)

The statue of Zeus in Greece at Olympia (2400 years old)

Temple of Artemis at Efeze in Turkey (2600 years old)
Only the pyramid of Giza still exists. There is nothing left of the other six constructions.

The New Seven Wonders

The New 7 wonder or the World were announced during the official Declaration ceremony in Lisbon, Portugal on Saturday, July 7.,2007 - 07.07.07.

The Great Wall or China

Petra in Jordan

Chichén Itzá in Mexico

The Statue or Christ Redeemer in Brazil

The Colosseum in Rome

Machu Picchu

Taj Mahal

More than 100 million votes were cast worldwide.